Jordan, How I’ll Miss Thee

Tomorrow night I head for Queen Alia International Airport. I spent the morning perusing my previous blog entries and reminiscing already. What an adventure it has been. I’m so happy finals are over, although it means my time in Jordan is at it’s end as well. Tests went fairly well, but I don’t think they will reflect what I have truly learned here. I’m sure when I get home it will become more obvious what I have learned as I begin to readjust to America and process my experience, but I can already think of the ways I have benefitted from my time here.

Besides the obvious increase in my Arabic skills, I have learned a lot about myself. I now have the confidence to put myself in difficult situations that I can’t control, and know that I will be able to handle it. I now understand that when you travel, you can only plan to a certain extent, and the rest you have to improvise (which is more fun anyways). I know that it is easy to make friends wherever I go, and that trusting in people is always better than making negative assumptions. I have learned that there are so many good people in this world who are willing to help others and share their way of life. And most importantly, I have learned that even when culture, or religion, or opinions don’t match up, we can still accept (and even love) each other. I know, a bit cheesy, but it’s hard to fully believe until you actually experience it.

I have also learned to appreciate my family, my friends, and my country back home. You never love something so much until you leave it and see all the good things you left behind. When I leave Jordan I know it will be the same. I will see all of the good things I loved about Amman and the Middle East, and I know I will miss it.

So long Jordan.

الأردن أولاً

3 responses to “Jordan, How I’ll Miss Thee

  1. I agree with your Mom! Keep your heart open and you never know where it will lead you next. Proud of you!

  2. “And most importantly, I have learned that even when culture, or religion, or opinions don’t match up, we can still accept (and even love) each other. I know, a bit cheesy, but it’s hard to fully believe until you actually experience it.”

Leave a comment